Images explored as suggested use for proposal

I had already spent quite a few months in later 2010 looking for images in the public domain. I then managed to source a few different cd’s/dvd’s that had compilations of vintage images – up to the 1950’s of female photography – all considered to be in the public domain. I think to date I have collected around 30,000 of these images and below was just a quick put together of a few as examples. The problem with these images, although some are high resolution, the majority are low resolution which means that size of the image being enlarged as a decal is fairly restrictive.

I have also collected a couple of pin-up playing card decks and a couple of the 1950’s ceramic glamour/pin-up plates in relation to my idea. It was seeing the plates in an antique shop that finally led to me finding a way to develop my own concepts and passion at uni – it is this realisation that sparked what is still an ongoing journey – one that I hope never ends.

click on any image to enlarge

Leave a Reply

